OFCA Scholarship Committee Report

2017 Award Winners

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chief Christopher Lyons, Chair EMS Chief Andrew Baillis Chief Geoffrey Cleveland Chief Briant Galgas Lieutenant Thomas Granata Deputy Chief Scott Kujawa

Chief Dennis Lewis
Chief Randy Pavlak
Captain Robert Pursley
Chief Jim Steele
Chief Jeffrey Young

The OFCA Scholarship Committee received thirteen applications for educational scholarships for 2017. The applicants included:

Assistant Chief Stephen Agenbroad Assistant Chief William Anderson

District Chief Craig Coburn
Captain Christopher Johns
Lieutenant Nicholas Martin
Lieutenant David Moore

Lieutenant Anthony Schaffer

Assistant Chief Matt Schumann Chief Christopher Smith Lieutenant George Sorge Lieutenant Dallas Terrell

Interim Chief Russell Thompson

Deputy Chief Edward Von Lehmden

Clearcreek Township Fire Department

Euclid Fire Department
Cincinnati Fire Department
Ross Township Fire Department
Lyndhurst Fire Department

Pleasant Township Fire Department

Bellevue Fire Department

Fairfield Township Fire Department Canton Township Fire Department Norwich Township Fire Department Wooster Township Fire Department

Greeneville Fire Department

North College Hill Fire Department

Each candidate's application was copied and sent to committee members for review.

For 2016, the committee had \$22,400 to award made possible by donations from the Dominion Foundation, VFIS, the Southwestern Chiefs' Association, and the OFE Alumni Association.

Award decisions were based on each candidate's educational goals, application content and clarity, overall professionalism, letter of recommendation, and financial need. Preference was given to candidates that were served by Dominion in awarding those scholarships.

Based on the number of requests and the limited funds available, applicants were reviewed and ranked individually by committee members. Each ranking was entered into a spreadsheet and total rankings were averaged to arrive at an overall ranking.

The committee has awarded the following scholarships for 2017:

Chief William Anderson	OFE Class 15	\$3,000
Assistant Chief Stephen Agenbroad	M.P.A. University of Dayton	\$1,900
Captain Christopher Johns	OFE Class 16	\$1,300
Assistant Chief Matt Schumann	B.A. Org. Leadership, Univ. of Notre Dame	\$3,000
Lieutenant George Sorge	B.S. Fire Administration, BGSU	\$3,000
Lieutenant Dallas Terrell	OFE Class 17	\$2,500
Captain Russell Thompson	B.S. Fire Administration, BGSU	\$3,000
Deputy Chief Edward Von Lehmden	B.S. Fire Administration, Columbia Southern	\$1,900
	Total	\$19.600

Respectfully Submitted,

Chief Christopher Lyons - Chair

Ow. Lucer